Josh Freitag, Finalist for the Marshall Award

Zach Cowger

ASB Leadership advisor Marie Lockwood always says “leadership is a call to service, not a trumpet call to self-importance.” Being a servant leader is an often thankless job; this is not the case for a certain local senior leader.

Seton’s own Josh Freitag was recently honored as a nominee for the George C. Marshall Youth Leadership award sponsored by The Historic Trust. This award recognizes exceptional leadership in and around the greater Vancouver community with awards for both Adult and Youth servant-leaders.

Josh was among seven nominees for the Youth Leadership Award who received an invite to attend the award ceremony where keynote speaker Lieutenant Governor Cyrus Habib and guest speaker Dr. Dan Miller delivered a thoughtful and inspirational message to the audience.

On his nomination for the prestigious recognition, Josh defers praise to his fellow award nominees, saying, “It is an honor to be compared to such a great paradigm of leadership and service and to be among other great Clark County student leaders.” Even in success, Josh continues to be an amazing example of humility to all of us consider him one of Seton’s brightest and best.

The 2019 recipients of the Marshall Award are Elizabeth Fitzgearld and Nicole Nugent. Elizabeth Fitzgearld is the executive director of the Clark County Volunteer Lawyers Program that provides legal representation to low income individuals. Nicole Nugent is a senior at Henrietta Lacks Health and Bioscience High School, commonly known as Hela High. Josh Freitag wishes to congratulate the winners and wishes them the best in their future endeavors.